24 Students Named Naughton Fellows

Joanne Fahey | May 3, 2017

2014 Inside Track Ireland 3906

Twenty-four students have been announced as awardees of the Naughton Fellowships for 2017. The research fellowships were awarded to undergraduate, Masters, and Ph.D. students from the University of Notre Dame and from five universities in Ireland. This year’s winners from Notre Dame represent three Notre Dame Colleges and Schools, including the Colleges of Arts and Letters, Engineering, and Science.

Speaking about this year’s awardees, Brian Baker, Rev. John A. Zahm Professor of Structural Biology and Director of the Naughton Fellowships, said, “I wholeheartedly welcome and congratulate our newest Naughton Fellows. This year’s awardees are exceptional young scholars and researchers from diverse fields. I thank the Naughton Family for their generous support of this program and look forward to witnessing what these bright, young minds from Notre Dame and the Irish universities experience, learn, create, and discover as a result of this opportunity.” 

The 2017 Naughton Fellowship awardees are as follows:


Sarah Bliese, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame, will go to Dublin City University to develop a scalable system for monitoring air pollutants in low resource settings at the National Centre for Sensor Research in the School of Chemical Sciences.

Oisín Murtagh, a Ph.D. student in the Applied Physics Research Group at Trinity College Dublin’s School of Physics, will go to the University of Notre Dame to complete research in non-conventional computing devices at NDnano, Notre Dame’s Center for Nano Science and Technology.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features