Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi

Aaron Smith | May 3, 2015

Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi, assistant professor in the University of Notre Dame’s Department of English, has joined a prestigious group of writers that includes Jonathan Franzen, Alice McDermott, and David Foster Wallace.

In March, Van der Vliet Oloomi was named a 2015 Whiting Award winner for “early accomplishment and the promise of great work to come.” Other past winners of the Whiting Award, established in 1985, include Jeffrey Eugenides, Ben Marcus, Mona Simpson, and Suzan-Lori Parks.
“Azareen has won a major literary prize,” said Stephen Fallon, English department chair and John J. Cavanaugh Professor of the Humanities. “She is one of 10 writers, and one of only three fiction writers, to win this highly significant, extremely competitive award this year.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Spotlights