ND Football Names 2015 Captains

Fighting Irish Athletics | August 28, 2015 


Senior defensive lineman Sheldon Day, graduate cornerback Matthias Farley, graduate center Nick Martin, graduate linebacker Joe Schmidt and junior linebacker Jaylon Smith have been named captains for the 2015 University of Notre Dame football team. 

The five-player captain contingent is the largest season-long collection of captains for the Irish since 2007, when Tom Zbikowski, Travis Thomas, John Carlson, John Sullivan and Maurice Crum Jr. served as team captains. Day and Martin are the 20th and 21st different two-time captains in program history after previously serving in the role in 2014, with Smith joining the duo to represent three Indiana natives among the 2015 captains.
Day (Indianapolis, Indiana/Warren Central) has appeared in 35 career games for the Irish during his first three seasons, starting 11 contests in 2014. Day has recorded 16.5 tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks and added two fumble recoveries at Notre Dame. His 40 total tackles in 2014 were the second-most among all Irish defensive linemen, as were his nine quarterback hurries and 7.5 tackles for loss.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features