Perkovic A Senior CLASS Award Finalist

Robby Hamman | April 17, 2017


Notre Dame men's lacrosse senior midfielder Sergio Perkovic has been named as a men's lacrosse finalist for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award. Perkovic is one of 10 men's lacrosse student-athletes who have been selected as a finalist.

The honor is the latest in a long list of accolades the distinguished midfielder has received. Earlier this season Perkovic was named a 2017 Weaver-James-Corrigan Award recipient and has been selected to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 20 candidates announced earlier this month. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through May 9. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. 

The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championships® in Boston, May 27-29.

To be eligible for the Senior CLASS Award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Perkovic is coming off one of his best games in his Notre Dame career, as the senior carried the Irish to an 11-10 win over Marquette on April 11. The midfielder scored a career-high six goals, including the game winner with under 30 seconds left in the game. Perkovic leads the Irish in scoring this season with 19 goals to his name.

Over his four years at Notre Dame the Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, native has been a standout both on and off the field for the Irish. Perkovic earned first team All-American honors in each of the last two years on the team. As a junior (2016), he was named to the All-ACC Team and All-ACC Academic Team. 

Perkovic led the Irish to an appearance in the NCAA Championship final (2014), the NCAA Championship semifinals (2015) and NCAA Championship quarterfinals (2016) as well as the 2014 ACC Tournament title. He was named to the NCAA All-Tournament Team in 2014 and 2015.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: