Student Senate Swears In Officers

Lucy Lynch | April 9, 2017

636057430384599486 1890450188 2661 11

In the first official meeting of the 2017-2018 Notre Dame Student Senate, newly elected senators were inducted and undertook the task of approving the nominations of various other student government officers.

New student body president, junior Becca Blais, and vice president, junior Sibonay Shewit, initiated the meeting by taking Oaths of Office. The incoming senators from all 31 dormitories stood and took a similar oath officially swearing them into office.

The majority of the meeting was spent making approvals of officers nominated by the Executive Board. Among the initial nominations were sophomore Prathm Juneja for student body chief-of-staff, freshman Molly McGraw for student body secretary and sophomore Alex Kruszewski as executive controller.

“I fully endorse Prathm, Molly and Alex for these positions,” Blais said.

The next group to be approved included sophomore Trever Carter and freshman Molly Walsh as co-directors of FUEL, a freshman student leadership program. Freshman John Henry Hobgood, who was approved as the director of academic affairs, hopes to “make the Moreau program better where it is lacking.” Additionally, sophomore Sean McMahon was initiated as director of campus technology as was junior Jonah Shainberg as the director of athletics.

Later, junior Kelly Beatty was approved as director of University policy.

“[Beatty] has an incredible vision,” Blais said. “He’s really caring for his friends, family and everyone in this community.”

Beatty’s plan is to improve the university’s compliance with Title IX policies regarding sexual assault and “re-evaluate the school’s policies towards drugs and alcohol.”

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features