Kelly Named Associated Press Coach of the Year

12 18 18 Und Kelly

Michael Bertsch | December 18, 2018

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Dick Corbett Head Football Coach Brian Kelly has been named the 2018 Associated Press Coach of the Year. It marks the second time that Kelly has received the award (2012). Kelly is the third coach to ever capture the award twice (Nick Saban and Gary Patterson).

Kelly received 16 of 58 first-place votes from AP college football poll voters and 81 total points. Alabama's Nick Saban was second with 16 first-place votes and 66 points and Central Florida first-year coach Josh Heupel was third with 33 points (five first-place votes).

Twelve coaches received at least one first-place vote and eight received at least three for the award announced Monday. Washington State's Mike Leach finished fourth with 26 points (three first-place votes) and Syracuse's Dino Babers was fifth with 25 (five first-place votes).

Kentucky's Mark Stoops, UAB's Bill Clark and Oklahoma's Lincoln Riley each received three first-place votes. Clemson's Dabo Swinney, Army's Jeff Monken, Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald and Florida's Dan Mullen each received one.

Kelly, one of five active FBS coaches that have guided their respective schools to multiple undefeated regular seasons since 2009, has guided the 2018 Fighting Irish to the program's 13th unbeaten, untied regular season in school history and first berth into the College Football Playoff. Notre Dame leads the nation in FBS victories (12), ranks second in Associated Press top-25 wins (four), ranks second in final College Football Playoff poll top-25 wins (three) and ranks tied for third in overall Power-5 wins (10).

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: