Kelly Only Three-Time "Coach of the Year"

12 13 18 Und Kelly

Notre Dame Athletics | December 13, 2018 

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Dick Corbett Head Football Coach Brian Kelly has been named the 2018 Home Depot Coach of the Year. It marks the third time that Kelly has received the award (2009, 2012). Kelly is the only coach to ever capture the award twice, let alone three times.

The award will be presented as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6, at 7 p.m. ET, on ESPN.

Kelly, one of five active FBS coaches that have guided their respective schools to multiple undefeated regular seasons since 2009, led the 2018 Fighting Irish to the program's 13th unbeaten, untied regular season in school history and first berth into the College Football Playoff. Notre Dame leads the nation in victories over FBS opponents (12), ranks second in Associated Press top-25 wins (four), ranks second in final College Football Playoff poll top-25 wins (three) and ranks tied for third in overall Power-5 wins (10).

Dating back to the 2018 Citrus Bowl victory over LSU, Notre Dame has fashioned 13 straight wins. It is the fourth-longest winning streak in Notre Dame football history.

The Irish have now posted back-to-back 10-win seasons for the first time since 1992-93. Notre Dame's 22-3 record and .880 winning percentage over the last two seasons ranks fifth among all Power-5 schools. In fact, the Irish improved to 21-2 (.913) in their last 23 games. The current stretch is the best 23-game stretch since 1992-94 when Notre Dame also won 21 of 23 games.

In its 21-win surge over the past 23 games, Notre Dame has earned seven wins against top-25 foes. In the previous stretch from 1992-94, the Irish also managed seven wins against ranked opponents.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: