Lacrosse Tewaaraton Award Watch List

3 1 19 Und Hockey

Notre Dame Athletics | March 1, 2019

NEW YORK - Notre Dame placed two players on the first Tewaaraton Award Watch List of the 2019 season, as senior attackman Brendan Gleason and junior midfielder Bryan Costabile earned the distinction on Thurdsay evening.

The list includes the top 50 players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2019 Tewaaraton Award.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Gleason (Essex, Vermont – Essex High School) is one of Notre Dame's most dangerous attackmen on the team. The senior not only is one of the team's best goal scorers but also is great at finding teammates for goals. Gleason has four goals and an assist this season after posting a career-high 33 points in 2018 off 19 goals and 14 assists. The 14 assists were tied for the team lead for assists on the season. The attackman has 71 points off 50 goals and 21 assists in his career.

Costabile (Sykesville, Maryland - Mount Saint Joseph) leads the Irish in points and goals in the young season, totaling eight points off seven goals and one assists through two games. Costabile matched his career high for goals in a game with five in the season opening win over Detroit Mercy. The junior led the Irish in scoring in 2018, posting 30 goals and four assists. Costabile was named the ACC Tournament MVP award after leading the Irish to wins over Duke and Virginia to claim the title.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: