Land O’Lakes Legacy

2016 Land O Lakes 113

Amanda Skofstad | September 3, 2017

The University of Notre Dame’s Cushwa Center for the Study of American Catholicism, in collaboration with the Office of the President, will host five Catholic university presidents on Sept. 5 (Tuesday) for a lecture and panel to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the drafting and signing of the Land O’Lakes Statement.

Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., — then-president of Notre Dame and the International Federation of Catholic Universities — organized and hosted this pivotal event on Notre Dame property in northern Wisconsin.

John T. McGreevy, I.A. O’Shaughnessy Dean of Notre Dame’s College of Arts and Letters and professor of history, will deliver a talk from 4 to 5 p.m. in McKenna Hall Auditorium on the history and impact of the Land O’Lakes charter on Catholic higher education.

McGreevy’s talk will be followed by a panel discussion at 7 p.m. with Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C., president of Notre Dame; Rev. William P. Leahy, S.J., president of Boston College; Patricia McGuire, president of Trinity Washington University; Rev. Joseph M. McShane, S.J., president of Fordham University; and Julie H. Sullivan, president of the University of St. Thomas.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Editor's Picks