McGraw Repeats as Coach of the Year

Notre Dame Women's Basketball | April 5, 2014 | Notre Dame Athletics

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Before a standing room-only crowd that included her players, coaching staff and numerous supporters, Notre Dame women's basketball head coach Muffet McGraw once again has been honored for her team's success, earning the Associated Press National Coach of the Year award for the second consecutive season and third time overall, it was announced Saturday afternoon at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

Muffet McGraw - Coach of the Year

McGraw is just the second coach in NCAA Division I history to earn the AP's top coaching award three times in her career, as well as the second to do so in consecutive seasons (Connecticut's Geno Auriemma is a seven-time recipient, including back-to-back honors in 2008 and 2009). No other coach has received the AP National Coach of the Year award more than once since its inception in 1995.


Read more at the Washington Post

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features