Notre Dame Students Receive Degrees

More than 2,900 students received degrees at Notre Dame’s 167th University Commencement Ceremonies, which was held on campus May 19 and 20.

Degrees were conferred on 1,973 undergraduates at the Sunday ceremony. Alumna Haley Scott DeMaria, who made an inspiring recovery from critical injuries suffered in a tragic 1992 bus accident involving the Fighting Irish swimming team, was the principal speaker and received an honorary degree. Ken Hackett, former president of Catholic Relief Services, received the 2012 Laetare Medal, Notre Dame’s highest honor and the most prestigious award given to American Catholics.

Michael J. O’Brien, a political science major from St. Charles, Ill., delivered the valedictory address.

In addition to DeMaria, other honorary degree recipients were: Jude Banatte, head of programming for Catholic Relief Services in Haiti; Luis Caffarelli, professor of mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin; Dick Ebersol, senior adviser at NBC; Archbishop Wilton Gregory, leader of the Archdiocese of Atlanta; Kevin Hasson, founder and president of the Becket Fund for Religious Liberty; Joseph O’Neill, University Trustee and managing partner of O’Neill Properties; Rev. David Tyson, C.S.C., University Trustee and provincial superior of the United States Province of the Congregation of Holy Cross; James Wagner, president of Emory University; and Carolyn Woo, president and CEO of Catholic Relief Services.

An additional 324 students received master’s and doctoral degrees at the Graduate School Commencement Ceremony, along with 401 master’s degree students at the Mendoza College of Business Ceremony and 215 students at the Law School Ceremony.

Other notable Commencement weekend events included the ROTC Commissioning Ceremony, Senior Send-Off Ceremony, and the Commencement Mass.

 by Bob Quakenbush

Posted In: Features