New Fellow, Board Members

Dennis Brown | May 16, 2014 | Notre Dame News

Main Building Feature

A new Fellow of the University and eight new members of the Board of Trustees were elected at the spring meetings of the University of Notre Dame’s Board of Trustees on May 1 and 2. Five members of the Board also were elevated to emeritus status.

Timothy F. Sutherland has been elected a Fellow of the University. A Trustee since 2012, Sutherland serves as chairman and chief executive of Middleburg Capital Development, a private equity firm. He was the founder, chairman and chief executive officer (CEO) of Pace Global Energy Services, a leading energy consulting and management firm established in 1976. A former member of Notre Dame’s Mendoza College of Business Advisory Council, Sutherland is the father of two Notre Dame graduates, Cristin S. Wipfler ’02 and David M. Sutherland ’07, ’10.

The 12 Fellows — six lay men and women and six priests of the Congregation of Holy Cross, Notre Dame’s founding religious community — are the University’s ultimate governing body. They elect the Trustees, adopt and amend the bylaws and are specifically charged with maintaining Notre Dame’s Catholic character.

Sutherland fills the vacancy left by W. Douglas Ford, who reached retirement age and was elected Trustee Emeritus. A Notre Dame alumnus and parent, Ford is a retired oil industry executive. Others who were elected emeritus members of the Board are Cathleen P. Black, the former chairman of Hearst Magazines; Robert M. Conway, a senior director of Goldman Sachs; José Enrique Fernández, CEO and chairman of the board of Omega Overseas Investments Corp.; and Philip J. Purcell, the founder and president of Continental Investors and retired chairman and CEO of Morgan Stanley.

The eight new Board members elected to three-year terms are Carlos Javier Betancourt, Robert Costa, Thomas J. Crotty, Andrew J. McKenna Jr., Fergal Naughton, Rev. Gerard J. Olinger, C.S.C., Martin W. Rodgers and Katie Washington.

Read more at Notre Dame News

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Editor's Picks