Ogunbowale A Semifinalist for Citizen Naismith Trophy

3 5 19 Und Arike

Notre Dame Athletics | March 5, 2019

ATLANTA – The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the 10 women's college basketball players on the semifinalist list for the Citizen Naismith Trophy on Monday morning. Notre Dame senior guard Arike Ogunbowale looks to claim the program's second Citizen Naismith Trophy for Women's Player of the Year, joining 2001 winner Ruth Riley.
Ogunbowale remains in the hunt for every national player of the year award, as she is also an Ann Meyers Drysdale Top 10 finalist and on the Wooden Award Late Season Top 20.
The Milwaukee native co-leads the ACC in scoring with 21.4 points per game, which also ranks within the Top 15 in the country. In addition, Ogunbowale has proven the most consistent, leading the league in 20-plus scoring performances with 20 – she broke the school record last year with 25.
In her final year at Notre Dame, Ogunbowale has expanded her game, as she ranks in the Top 10 in the ACC in assists, averaging 4.0 on the year, and dishing a total of 121. In addition, the senior has been active on defense, averaging 1.8 steals, which leads the team and ranks ninth in the ACC.
Joining Ogunbowale on the list is: Kristine Anigwe (California), Megan Gustafson (Iowa), Asia Durr (Louisville), Teaira McCowan (Mississippi State), Sabrina Ionescu (Oregon), Kalani Brown (Baylor), Alanna Smith (Stanford), Napheesa Collier (UConn) and Katie Lou Samuelson (UConn).
The semifinalists represent nine schools and six conferences nationally. Out of the 10 players, nine are seniors, and Ionescu is the sole junior included.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: UND.com