Physicists Celebrate Nobel Announcement

Marissa Gebhard | Oct. 8, 2013 | Notre Dame News

Video from WNDU-TV

High-energy physics group working at CERN on the Compact Muon Solenoid

At 6:45 a.m. Tuesday (Oct. 8), the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the Nobel Prize in physics to theorists Peter Higgs and Francois Englert to recognize their work developing the theory of what is now known as the Higgs field, which gives elementary particles mass. U.S. scientists played a significant role in advancing the theory and in discovering the particle that proves the existence of the Higgs field, the Higgs boson.

Colin Jessop, professor of physics at the University of Notre Dame, is the leader of the Notre Dame team that works on the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) collaboration at CERN. The team’s experiment is one of two Large Hadron Collider (LHC) experiments that shared the Higgs boson discovery. Last year, when the scientists unveiled new data, Jessop said, “All of a sudden I saw a peak that indicated the Higgs, and I fell off my chair, literally. I was walking around in a daze for a day because it was so stunning.”

Read more at Notre Dame News

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features