Professors Win Guggenheim Fellowships

Aaron Smith | May 8, 2014 | Notre Dame News

Guggenheim Fellows 2014Scott Monroe (left) and Donald Crafton

Two University of Notre Dame professors — Scott Monroe, an expert in depressive disorders, and Donald Crafton, who holds Notre Dame’s first endowed chair for film studies — have been awarded 2014 fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

From a group of almost 3,000 applicants, the foundation awarded 177 Fellowships this year to a diverse group of scholars, artists and scientists “on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise.”

“The Guggenheim is one of the nation’s most prestigious fellowships,” said John McGreevy, I.A. O’Shaughnessy Dean of the College of Arts and Letters. “We’re delighted that Don Crafton and Scott Monroe are continuing our strong tradition of excellence with these awards.”

Faculty members in Notre Dame’s College of Arts and Letters have won 15 Guggenheim fellowships in the past 14 years.

Read more at Notre Dame News

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features