Stamp Honors Fr. Hesburgh

Dennis Brown | August 8, 2017

Hesburg Stamp

The legendary career of the late Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., the University of Notre Dame’s president from 1952 to 1987, will be celebrated Sept. 1 when the U.S. Postal Service unveils a 49-cent Forever stamp in his honor at a ceremony on campus. All are welcome to attend.

Beginning at 1 p.m. in Purcell Pavilion at the Joyce Center, the ceremony will feature remarks from Notre Dame alumna and former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Postmaster General and Chief Executive Officer of the U. S. Postal Service Megan Brennan and Notre Dame’s president, Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C.

In addition, Rev. Austin I. Collins, C.S.C., religious superior of Holy Cross Priests and Brothers at Notre Dame, will offer a welcome and invocation, and Rev. Thomas J. O’Hara, C.S.C., provincial superior of the U.S. Province of the Congregation of Holy Cross, will say the benediction. A short video on Father Hesburgh also will be featured. Former Notre Dame basketball coach Digger Phelps, who once served on the Postal Service’s Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee, will emcee.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features