Students Leaders Recognized

5 4 19 Feature Students

Kate Morgan | May 4, 2019

The University of Notre Dame’s Division of Student Affairs recognized seven students at the 33rd annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet on April 9. These annual awards honor current students who have made exceptional contributions to the Notre Dame community.

The Rev. A. Leonard Collins, C.S.C., Award, honoring a graduating senior who has made substantial personal efforts to advance the interests of students at Notre Dame, was given to Bethany Boggess of South Bend, Indiana.

As a marketing major, Boggess has served as the executive director of the Student Union Board, welcomed visitors to campus as a tour guide and served in leadership roles for Welcome Weekend. Since her sophomore year, Boggess has served on the Orientation Steering Committee to help plan an inclusive Welcome Weekend and ensure a positive transition to life at Notre Dame for all students. She also served as a student facilitator for a focus group on political views as a part of the Inclusive Campus Student Survey.

The Rev. Theodore Hesburgh, C.S.C., Award annually honors a graduating senior whose leadership has significantly advanced the climate of welcome and inclusion within or beyond the University community. This year’s recipient is Deborah Bineza from La Vergne, Tennessee.

A political science major and international development studies minor, Bineza has committed significant time and energy to improving the climate of welcome and inclusion on campus. She has served the Gender Relations Center since her sophomore year and held leadership roles in Shades of Ebony and Voices of Faith. She also led a focus group for the Inclusive Campus Student Survey.

Read more here.

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features