Students Named Goldwater Scholars


Erin Blasko | April 3, 2020

Three University of Notre Dame students, juniors Leah Harmon, Alex Kokot and Theodore MacMillan, have been named Goldwater Scholars for the 2020-2021 academic year, the most for the University in a single year.

  • Harmon, of Ipswich, Massachusetts, is a neuroscience and behavior major with a supplemental major in ACMS. She is a Trustey Family Scholar and a Glynn Family Honors Scholar. 
  • Kokot, of Granger, Indiana, is a double major: honors mathematics with a concentration in computing and philosophy with a concentration in philosophy, science and mathematics. He is a Flatley Center for Undergraduate Scholarly Engagement (CUSE) Sorin Scholar. 
  • MacMillan, of Scotch Plains, New Jersey, is a mechanical engineering major with a minor in philosophy, science and mathematics. 

In applying for the scholarship, Harmon, Kokot and MacMillan worked closely with CUSE, which promotes the intellectual development of Notre Dame undergraduates through scholarly engagement, research, creative endeavors and the pursuit of fellowships.

Read more here. 

 by Daily Domer Staff

Posted In: Features